Costa Book Awards 2017 Shortlists Announced

Costa Book Awards 2017 Shortlists Announced

Costa today announces the shortlists for the 2017 Costa Book Awards. The Costa Book Awards uniquely recognises the most enjoyable books across five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - published in the last year.  

Originally established in 1971 by Whitbread Plc, Costa announced its takeover of the sponsorship of one of the UK's most prestigious book prizes in 2006. 2017 marks the 46th year of the Book Awards. 

This year’s Costa Book Awards attracted 620 entries. Judges on this year’s panels (three per category) included BBC presenter and journalist Sophie Raworth, authors Freya North, Piers Torday, Lucy Atkins, Simon Garfield and Kiran Millwood Hargrave; poet Moniza Alvi; and book blogger and vlogger, Simon Savidge. 

Winners in the five categories, who each receive £5,000, will be announced on Tuesday 2nd January 2018.  The overall winner of the 2017 Costa Book of the Year will receive £30,000 and will be selected and announced at the Costa Book Awards ceremony in central London on Tuesday 30th January 2018. 

Since the introduction of the Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won twelve times by a novel, five times by a first novel, six times by a biography, seven times by a collection of poetry and twice by a children’s book.  The 2016 Costa Book of the Year was Days Without End by Sebastian Barry.

For more information, please contact Emma Kaye at TVC Group on